Against the Cold

Every year we venture Westward to the small town of Reedpoint Montana to enjoy the festivities of the Sheep Drive. There are a variety of vendors up & down Main Street, a sheep sheering contest, parade, some type of auction I think, the “running of the sheep”, and a street dance in the evening. Some years we stay long enough to see the sheep make their short run and some years we leave earlier.

I like to find vendors selling their own hand-crafted wares. A woman from Wolf Point makes her own soaps and other products, all natural. She even grows some of the herbs she uses. Of course I had to buy a bar. It seemed like there were fewer vendors this year (probably due to the economy), but thankfully there were a couple of fiber folks present!

Rocking L Alpacas from Victor Montana had absolutely lovely fiber, some reading for spinning and some already in the guise of yarn. I have a nice fat skein of shimmery silver alpaca to make myself a warm hat and two tiny balls of turquoise blue lace-weight llama yarn. I think they will become a scarf.

One child wanted alpaca socks and the other wanted mittens, so those were purchased in ready-to-wear format.

In my yarn stash I already have several projects waiting for free needles. On my needles is a delightful merino/llama/silk blend slowly morphing into a beanie. Two other balls of yarn await a similar fate, and I need to take one of the kids to the yarn shop to pick out their hat yarn still.

My Christmas/birthday yarn is waiting patiently, occasionally whispering at me that I ought to hurry up a bit. I picked out a lovely lace-weight yarn (I forget the fibre content, probably merino/alpaca/silk or similar soft and not at all itchy) and a really pretty lace knit shawl pattern. It is very intimidating so I’ve been putting off starting it. I’m telling myself that knitting all these hats first will help my knitterly skills!

But I need to knit faster and procrastinate less because these hats need to be done asap. It’s a “Mom Thing”, this making warm objects to keep my people from freezing to death in the winter. It might feel like summer is lingering and autumn is reluctant to swing by, but there’s a certain feel in the air that says the pleasant days are numbered. So hurry I must, before ol’ Jack Frost stops by again.

Leave a Reply

