stash, tasty stash

Aug 17, 2007
While I was out of town visiting a good friend, we found a cross stitch shop in her town. A *real* cross stitch shop. As in a shop that is devoted to cross stitch, not a shop that just sort of happens to carry some charts and some DMC and maybe a few other things.

I may have gone a little wild, but I did keep my purchases within my “in hopes I find stash” limit I’d brought with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

They carry the gold John James needles which I love, so I tossed a package of those in my pile. I can get them locally, on random occasions. (The store I found them at seems to re-stock them at infrequent intervals) I bought a nice size piece of a creamy/antique white shade of lugana (28ct). I could have bought more charts, but then I would have had to look locally or online for fabric when I have time to stitch them. I bought charts, and the floss and embellishments needed to stitch them. I can’t get Weeks Dye Works or The Gentle Art locally, and having to deal with online ordering later seemed silly when the threads were right there. I feel a little giddy all over again just thinking about it. heh. So what charts did I succumb to?

Lorri Birmingham Designs ‘Spring Needle Roll’ – it’s a kit, and it was the bee hive and little bee charms that did me in. I looked briefly online for it, and didn’t come across it, so I think it may be an older design. (a clearance sale sticker is another clue, lol)

Lizzie Kate ‘Wanted! – Santa ’02’ – I loved the saying on it “Wanted! Jolly Man Bearing Gifts.”

Two JBW French Country Designs- Rooster and Love.

Heartstrings ‘The Bittersweet Season’ – The photo on the chart doesn’t do it justice. The shop had a stitched model displayed, and it’s ridiculously cute without being too sweet.

I now have stash to keep me stitching for years to come, well, assuming I get the cloth and floss for all the charts I have in my drawer already. hmmmmmm.

Before we left on our trip, I picked up a copy of Cross Stitcher (issue 189). There are quite a few projects in it that I like and want to stitch eventually. And the issue came with a handy travel project bag.

And, finally, yesterday I received my shipment of fibers and beads that I need to complete the TW Needle Guardian I’m busy stitching. I’d love to say I’ll have a finish by Monday, but seem to have stressed a necessary hand a bit. Nothing a little ibuprofen won’t fix ๐Ÿ˜‰ I will say that the Dinky Dyes silk floss is *gorgeous*. Worth having to wait two weeks.

I think any crafter experiences a similar Stash Sickness. It doesn’t seem to matter what your preferred artistic outlet is, we gather and store and gather some more, and perhaps part of it is the instant gratification of the acquiring process. Have to wait two weeks for some floss? Well, let’s just go get a magazine! Nearing the end of one project (nevermind that there are several others in progress)? Get supplies for several more! See a great bargain on something you might eventually possibly maybe want to do? Grab it before it’s gone! A sickness I tell you.

Leave a Reply

