Needle Puller

Nov 30, 2006
The salvation for the quilts being ready in time for gifting this holiday season is a small but mighty gadget known as a Needle Puller. Gripping the needle to thread the yarn through the quilt layers, and pulling yarn through, was making my fingers hurt and raising a blister on my thumb. Not fun. During a window-shopping expedition we made a stop by JoAnn Fabrics, so I could pick up a leather thimble. I figured those are flexible and should offer enough protection for the task.

Well! I found Needle Pullers, and bought those instead. The ones I bought are small thin flexible rubber discs. About an inch / inch-and-a-half in diameter. The surface on both sides is lightly textured, allowing the puller to grip the needle firmly. Wonderful invention!!

I think I may have seen a couple of these among the bits & bobs of my Grandmother’s sewing things, and didn’t know what I was looking at, so dismissed it as some kind of odd junk. Now I know better!

I’ve been working on Frederick as well, and hope to have enough progress soon to post another update.

Leave a Reply

